A Dog's Purpose : A Dog's Purpose

  • by W. Bruce Cameron
  • Narrated by George K. Wilson
  • Series: A Dog's Purpose
  • 9 hrs and 9 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

After a tragically short life as a stray mutt, Bailey is surprised to find himself reborn as a rambunctious golden-haired puppy. Bailey's search for his new life's meaning leads him into the loving arms of eight-year-old Ethan. During their countless adventures, Bailey joyously discovers how to be a good dog. But this life as a beloved family pet is not the end of Bailey's journey. Reborn as a puppy yet again, Bailey wonders, will he ever find his purpose?
Heartwarming, insightful, and often laugh-out-loud funny, A Dog's Purpose is not only the story of a dog's many lives but also a dog's-eye commentary on human relationships and the unbreakable bonds between man and man's best friend. This beautifully crafted novel teaches us that love never dies, that our true friends arealways with us, and that every creature on Earth is born with a purpose.

More

Audible Editor Reviews

Grab the tissues. This heart-warming novel told from a dog’s perspective is even more touching due to the pitch-perfect narration by George Wilson. Bailey starts out life as a mutt named Toby, but after a short existence is reincarnated into a golden retriever who finds a loving home with 8-year-old Ethan. Bailey loves Ethan eagerly and without bounds — as only a dog truly can — and believes that this must be his purpose; this must be why he was reborn. But after a long life with the boy, Bailey dies yet again — and is reborn as a German Shepherd police dog. As Bailey ponders his new existence and what his new purpose must be, the bond he had with Ethan never wavers and he misses the boy desperately. “How could I possibly have a more important mission than loving the boy?” he wonders. Yet he begins the journey of life again, searching for its meaning, and always on the lookout for Ethan.
Wilson’s warm and buttery voice delivers Bailey’s thoughts with an earnest sincerity — without overdoing it. He easily captures the excitement, innocence, and fierce loyalty of a dog in his tone. Listeners will be convinced that if their dogs could talk, they would sound exactly like this narrator. Wilson also expertly and subtly changes tone and pitch when portraying the human characters around Bailey — his admirations (“Good dog, Bailey!”) and admonishments (“No, Bailey, no!”) have such emotion behind them, that you instantly empathize with Bailey and look forward to a human asking him if he wants to go for a “car ride” or have a “biscuit”.
Bailey’s observations on human life are naïve, yet clever, and often hysterically funny — he’s like the Forrest Gump of the canine set. For fans of Marley & Me and The Art of Racing in the Rain, this is your new favorite dog book. —Colleen Oakley

More

What the Critics Say

"The most accurate window into a dog's mind I have ever encountered. I couldn't put it down.... I feel like I have been waiting my whole life for this book." (Dina Zaphiris, host of Animal Planet's Petfinder)

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

This book warmed my cold black heart

First of all I am technically a "cat person". I do not usually appreciate stories about mushy love between boys and dogs - or boys and girls for that matter. This book sliced right through my hard shell with humor and cleverly disguised action then stuck me right where it hurts the most - my weakness for the innocence and blind loyalty of pets. The narrator is perfect - he transports you into the mind of the dog with ease and makes it seem perfectly reasonable for a dog to be telling a story humans. This book is extremely well written and actually brought me to tears a few times which is rare (me, being of the hard-shelled variety of human 99% of the time.) I do not hesitate to give this one all 5 stars.
Read full review

- Kim "Addicted to audiobooks & podcasts. 5 Stars=I Loved It, 4 Stars=Enjoyed it Thoroughly, 3=Kinda Good, 2=Bad/Boring, 1=Complete Waste of Credit"

If you loved this, read . . .

This was a wonderful book which I thoroughly enjoyed and I think it deserves all of the five star reviews. However, once in a while a book comes along that just shines and The Art of Racing in the Rain is, in my opinion, the "dog book" that all others should be compared to. It was simply stellar.

If you liked A Dog's Purpose, you will likely LOVE The Art of Racing in the Rain. Both books are wonderful.
Read full review

- Beth

Book Details

  • Release Date: 07-12-2010
  • Publisher: Tantor Audio