A Bridge Across the Ocean

  • by Susan Meissner
  • Narrated by Kim Bubbs
  • 10 hrs and 32 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Wartime intrigue spans the lives of three women - past and present - in the latest novel from the acclaimed author of Secrets of a Charmed Life.
February, 1946. World War Two is over, but the recovery from the most intimate of its horrors has only just begun for Annaliese Lange, a German ballerina desperate to escape her past, and Simone Deveraux, the wronged daughter of a French RĂ©sistance spy.
Now the two women are joining hundreds of other European war brides aboard the renowned RMS Queen Mary to cross the Atlantic and be reunited with their American husbands. Their new lives in the United States brightly beckon until their tightly held secrets are laid bare in their shared stateroom. When the voyage ends at New York Harbor, only one of them will disembark....
Present day. Facing a crossroads in her own life, Brette Caslake visits the famously haunted Queen Mary at the request of an old friend. What she finds will set her on a course to solve a 70-year-old tragedy that will draw her into the heartaches and triumphs of the courageous war brides - and will ultimately lead her to reconsider what she has to sacrifice to achieve her own deepest longings.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Only half of this book was good

If I could omit the "now" character Brete, it would be an ok book. Brete was a whining, annoying, pathetic, selfish character. The stories told from the past were much better.

I loved Secrets of a Charmed Life! But, don't get this book if you think it will be as good as that. I was disappointed.
Read full review

- M. Johns

Don't like ghost stories

What could have made this a 4 or 5-star listening experience for you?

If I had known it was about Ghost I would not have purchased. I think there needs to be something in description explaining that it is. Love the writer just not this story.

Read full review

- connie nance

Book Details

  • Release Date: 03-14-2017
  • Publisher: Penguin Audio