• by Blake Crouch
  • Narrated by Luke Daniels
  • 0 hrs and 34 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Tim and Laura West receive a bizarre voicemail on their answering machine. Although the sound is muffled, the raised voices, suspicious thuds, and tortured gurgles lead them to believe that what they're hearing is a brutal murder, unintentionally left as a voice message. As they try to decide what to do next, they are forced to consider a terrifying thought: What will happen when the killer realizes his mistake?


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Good read

Not too long ago I started reading Blake Crouch. I have read about 5 of his books. So far I have not been disappointed. I started with a couple of his novels, then I tried one of his short stories. I am really enjoying them, as I work full time and don't always have a lot of time to listen and/ or read books. I must admit the short story *69 was one of my favorites. The narrator was really good. And anyone who listenes to books knows a bad narrator can totally ruin a great book. I will continue to be a Blake Crouch reader and fan.
Read full review

- Theresa David. White

Fabulous Quick Thriller

What made the experience of listening to *69 the most enjoyable?

I'm generally over critical but I keep coming back to BC for stories like this one. OK it started out cheesy but in an enjoyable way. Then, I was "in" in the story immediately and the momentum was realistic and then it all gets thrilling.

And then its over.

That's my only problem with this book - it ended too soon. Would have loved more.

Did the plot keep you on the edge of your seat? How?

YES. I though he was going to let her get away in a totally unrealistic way which I was already groaning about...and THEN HE DIDN'T.

Which scene was your favorite?

The whole story is engaging and twists around you. I was really enjoying it and walked an extra 3kms because I didn't want to go home and unplug from the story!

If you could rename *69, what would you call it?

Names are hard, I think *69 is perfect. Although its true, the name didn't grab me, I only purchased it based on BC's history and the reviews.

Any additional comments?

I find these mini books so annoying because they are tantalizingly short. But this one is well worth the credit.

Read full review

- Anna Chalet

Book Details

  • Release Date: 06-18-2014
  • Publisher: Brilliance Audio