• by Morgan Llywelyn
  • Narrated by Fiacre Douglas
  • 15 hrs and 41 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

The Easter Rising of 1916 was a major turning point in Irish history. Peopled by patriots and poets, fueled by a desperate desire for freedom, and played out in the historic streets of Dublin against the background of World War I, the rebellion is a story of tremendous power and unique poignancy.1916 is the story of the valiant men and women who, for a few desperate days, fought against all odds to realize an impossible dream: to give Ireland back to the Irish.


What the Critics Say

"The task of transforming the events of the 1916 Irish Rebellion into coherent fiction would terrify most writers. Llywelyn, however, has produced a thunderous, informative read that rises to the challenge." (Publishers Weekly)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

more than the year 1916

Llywelyn also describes the build-up (both immediate and more distant) to the Easter uprising.

I give this novel 5 stars for its excellent job of recounting history (at least from the Irish nationalist persepective). However, as is often the case with such novels, the exposition of historical facts sometimes makes the storyline clumsy when characters "educate" us though conversations they wouldn't credibly have. Some of the romance scenes struck me as awkwardly written too -- so I thought these aspects detracted from the listen overall.

I've read the print versions of Llywelyn's "1921" and "1949," and from the more enjoyable experience of listening to "1916", I'd recommend the audio versions of the series as both entertaining and informative.
Read full review

- connie

1916 (Unabridged) is great

I really enjoyed this audio book. I sat waiting for the hero's side to win, but was not disappointed even though they lots the immediate battle they won the war. And the hero wins his own personal victory. Great book! Well worth the listen.
Read full review

- James P.

Book Details

  • Release Date: 07-10-2008
  • Publisher: Brilliance Audio