The Claiming of Sleeping Beauty : Sleeping Beauty

  • by Anne Rice
  • Narrated by Samantha Prescott, Corbin Steele
  • Series: Sleeping Beauty
  • 9 hrs and 9 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

From best-selling author Anne Rice, writing as A.N. Roquleaure, in the traditional folktale of "Sleeping Beauty", the spell cast upon the lovely young princess and everyone in her castle can only be broken by the kiss of a prince. It is an ancient story, one that originally emerged from and still deeply disturbs the mind's unconscious. Now Anne Rice's retelling of the Beauty story probes the unspoken implications of this lush, suggestive tale by exploring its undeniable connection to sexual desire. Here the prince reawakens Beauty, not with a kiss, but with sexual initiation. His reward for ending the 100 years of enchantment is Beauty's complete and total enslavement to him…as Anne Rice explores the world of erotic yearning and fantasy in a classic that becomes, with her skillful pen, a compelling experience.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful


Do not go into this book thinking it is anything like 50 Shades of Grey. It's a book that focuses more on the sadistic side of BDSM then the pleasure or sexual nature of it. Example would be describing in detail whipping and flogging, followed up with "they had rough sex".
Also, be aware there is not a whole lot of character development. The book seems to have a very specific goal of conveying events, rather then making you feel for any specific character.
Once you let go of any predetermined pretenses, it is a good story and I would recommend it. Have an open mind though or you will be disappointed.
Read full review

- Mike


you have to view it as an alternate reality to enjoy it. like this is totally possible if the world were different in medieval times. I didn't feel so much aroused as I felt intrigued to see how harnessing ones Sexual drive weakens one into utter submission.
Read full review

- Jessica

Book Details

  • Release Date: 02-05-2014
  • Publisher: HarperAudio