My Secret Life

  • by The Copyright Group
  • Narrated by Richard Johnson
  • 3 hrs and 19 mins
  • Abridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Subtitled the Secret Diary of a Victorian Gentleman, this book was banned for being sexually explicit and pornographic but following its publication has become known as an erotic masterpiece. No one really knows the identity of the pleasure seeking author or what in this diary is fact or fiction but Richard Johnson's reading makes a convincing and compelling case as the chronicler of this important document.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful


I found the book to be pretty disappointing overall and would not classify it as a masterpiece. My criteria for a good reader is for them to be able to read in such a way that fools your mind into thinking they are the actual authors; in that regard, Richard Johnson does a stellar performance.

My problem with the book is the same problem I have with modern pornography. It is very degrading and disregarding of women. Every sexual encounter in the book starts with him either forcing kisses and touch on the house servants or relatives or with him paying for sex. Yes, at least as the author portrays it, all of the ladies come around to wanting it from him after he has forced himself upon and/or into them, but in all aspects of it, every initial encounter meets our modern definition of rape, attempted rape, or prostitution.

Read it if you want as a historical piece of erotica but please keep in mind the parallels between this work and modern pornography of men forcing themselves, whether painful or not, into women. And also please do not use this as an educational or inspirational piece of literature to model your life after or envy the young man in the book.
Finally, I'd highly recommend reading: Jackson Katz's "The Macho Paradox: Why Some Men Hurt Women and and How All Men Can Help" and then decide how you feel about this book and many other written and film works of erotica.
Read full review

- Aaron

Book Details

  • Release Date: 04-21-2009
  • Publisher: The Copyright Group