• by Megan Hart
  • Narrated by Elenna Stauffer
  • 10 hrs and 29 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

This is what happened: I met him at the candy store. He turned and smiled at me and I was surprised enough to smile back. This was not a children's candy store, mind you, this was the kind of place you went to buy expensive imported chocolate truffles for your boss' wife because you felt guilty for having sex with him when you were both at a conference in Milwaukee.Hypothetically speaking, of course. I've been hit on plenty of times, mostly by men with little finesse who thought what was between their legs made up for what they lacked between their ears. Sometimes I went home with them anyway, just because it felt good to want and be wanted, even if it was mostly fake. The problem with wanting is that it's like pouring water into a vase full of stones. It fills you up before you know it, leaving no room for anything else.
I don't apologize for who I am or what I've done in or out of bed. I have my job, my house, and my life, and for a long time I haven't wanted anything else. Until Dan. Until now.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Can't get enough!

Megan Hart is a master. She knows how to weave a story that features real characters who love and live.. but also suffer and cry. Their lives are far from easy. In fact most are painful, but the author finds a way to explore their deepest secrets with beauty and grace. She helps the reader find the light even in the darkest circumstances. Don't we all need a little of that? Hope? I plan to download everything Hart writes. "Dirty" is Elle's story, but the title is deceiving. She is far from dirty. That's just how her mother's critcism and her abusive past make her feel. She is a woman with emotional scars (like so many of us) and she is trying to find a way to let go of the past and trust. If you like the story, listen to "Broken" because there you'll find out more about what happens to Elle. Don't listen to the critics that focus on use of the "F" word or the sex scenes. If you are squeamish about those sort of things, don't buy this selection. If you need a little hope, a little excitement, a lots of love this is for you!
Read full review

- Cynthia

Read in this Order: DIRTY, BROKEN, STRANGER

Read in this ORDER: "Dirty", "Broken", then "Stranger".

Tears, joy, sadness, empathy... your emotions will flow.

Hart weaves characters from "Dirty" throughout "Broken" & "Stranger" making it personal, helping you identify more closely with the relationships.

I highly recommend these 3 books. The narrarator for "Dirty" is not the best. Keep in mind the story line and try to ignore the terrible male voices she tries to portray.
Read full review

- L.D.

Book Details

  • Release Date: 12-29-2006
  • Publisher: Harlequin Books S.A.