The Children of the New Forest

  • by Frederick Marryat
  • Narrated by Sebastian Lockwood
  • 11 hrs and 0 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

The Roundheads under Cromwell and the Cavaliers under Charles I, have fought a bloody Civil War: the defeated King has escaped south towards the New Forest.
The Parliamentry troops believe he will hide in the home of Colonel Beverly, a famous Cavalier - they surround the house believeing they will smoke him out. No King is found and they are told that they have killed the four children who were in the house - but they escape with the old forester, Jacob Armitage, who must now teach them to lose their lace, and velvet manners and behave and look like Puritans. He must also teach them how to hunt, farm and survive in the magnifiecent New Forest, first laid out by William the Conquerer.  Edward, the oldest, Humphrey and their sisters, Alice and Edith will find a new life, and for Edward, new love with the Superintendents' daughter, Patience Heatherstone.  Captain Marryat tells this story with loving attention to the details of living in the forest and to History where the balance between King and Parliament has changed forever.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Story comes alive

Where does The Children of the New Forest rank among all the audiobooks you’ve listened to so far?

I would rank this audio book in the top ten percentile.

What did you like best about this story?

Learning how the common people were affected during Britain's Civil War.

What about Sebastian Lockwood’s performance did you like?

I enjoyed the narrator's ability to bring the characters to life.

Did you have an extreme reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

Especially liked the forest protector taking care of the orphaned children after their father dies while fighting for the king.

Any additional comments?

Mr. Lockwood keeps an historical adventure alive and interesting. Thoroughly enjoyable.

Read full review

- Miss Mac

Book Details

  • Release Date: 11-06-2013
  • Publisher: Lumenarts