Black Water

  • by John Duffy, Joyce Carol Oates
  • Narrated by Karen Burlingame, Patrick Mason
  • 1 hrs and 33 mins
  • Performance

Publisher's Summary

Based on National Book Award-winner Joyce Carol Oates' novella about the Chappaquiddick scandal, this tragic and beautiful new opera enthralls as a handsome Senator uses power to enchant, seduce, and carelessly destroy.

More

Audible Editor Reviews

Here, in the tradition of Nixon in China, Joyce Carol Oates and composer John Duffy present a roman à clef about the scandal of Ted Kennedy at Chappaquiddick, based on Oates's novel of the same name. For modern opera, the music is particularly accessible, if not exactly tuneful. The pristine recording preserves a live concert performance in Los Angeles, featuring a superb cast backed by a three-piece instrumental ensemble. Karen Burlingame as Kelly and Patrick Mason as the Senator stand out for their fine voices and passionate portrayals.

More

What the Critics Say

"For modern opera, the music is particularly accessible...Karen Burlingame as Kelly and Patrick Nelson as the Senator stand out for their fine voices and passionate portrayals." (AudioFile)

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

No customer reviews available

Book Details

  • Release Date: 06-19-2001
  • Publisher: L.A. Theatre Works