• Our Dumb World

  • The Onion's Atlas of the Planet Earth, 73rd Edition
  • By: The Onion
  • Length: 3 hrs and 38 mins
  • Abridged Audiobook
  • Release date: 10-17-07
  • Language: English
  • Publisher: Hachette Audio
  • 4 out of 5 stars 4.0 (107 ratings)

Regular price: $22.80

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $22.80

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

To understand the news, the context of world geography and history is essential. That is why The Onion is publishing an audio world atlas: to help us. News that now makes no sense will now make sense; thus a new age of enlightenment. Our Dumb World contains news and historic facts from other nations, historic timelines for countries, and the earth broken down and described (from its molten core to the outermost sphere and the location of heaven), as well as demographic, economic, and other data about each country's people, industries, and habits. Every country is categorized in a number of ways, including ethnic cleanliness, level of Bono activity, prop comedians per 1,000 live birds, yearly income in wide-screen televisions, the monkeys they got, where it sees itself in five years, average skin color, benefits of invading said country, and most annoying handicrafts. Framed with informative essays and written by the full Onion staff, Our Dumb World is the first original Onion audiobook in eight years: a gut-busting send-up in which no nation escapes unscathed.
©2007 The Onion, Inc (P)2007 Hachette Audio
Show More Show Less

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
3 out of 5 stars
By Fletch on 12-25-07

Nuggets of humor

As a long time reader of "The Onion" I looked forward to this book and audio book with great anticipation. Like many things you believe will be great before you see them, this falls a bit short. When it's funny, it's oh so funny. I just wish it was funny more of the time.

Read More Hide me

4 of 4 people found this review helpful

5 out of 5 stars
By Shelly M Davis on 12-05-07

Exaggerated Fun

From the moment I clicked play, I was hooked and didn't press stop until it was completed. This audio atlas takes a shred of truth about history and the world, stretches it like taffy, adds a generous amount of tongue-in-cheek humor and tops it off with no small amount of "just made it up". Every minute is riviting and entertaining. I highly recommend this book to anybody that comes within hearing/reading distance.

Read More Hide me

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews
© Copyright 1997 - 2018 Audible, Inc