Regular price: $17.00

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $17.00

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Add to Library for $0.00

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

This big-hearted, laugh-until-you-can't-breathe collection of personal essays, stories, and riffs on finding love and intimacy in New York City announces the arrival of a "a monstrous new talent" (New York magazine) in the vein of David Sedaris, Augusten Burroughs, and Tina Fey.
In this uproariously funny debut collection, award-winning writer and performer Isaac Oliver serves up a comedic cornucopia of sketches, vignettes, lists, and diaries from his life as a young, fanciful, and extremely single gay man in New York City. Whether he's hooking up with a man who dresses as a dolphin, suffering on airplanes and buses next to people with Food from Home, or hovering around an impenetrable circle of attractive people at a cocktail party, Oliver captures the messy, moving, and absurd moments of urban life as we live it today.
Since moving to New York a decade ago, Oliver has pined for countless strangers on the subway, slept with half the people in his Washington Heights neighborhood, and observed the best and worst of humanity from behind the glass of a Times Square theater box office. He also rode the subway during Breastfeeding Awareness Week and lived to tell the tale. Culled from years of heartbreak, hook-ups, and more awkwardness than a virgin at prom and a whore in church (and he should know because he's been both), Intimacy Idiot chronicles Oliver's encounters with love, infatuation, resilience, and self-acceptance that echo our universal desire for intimacy of all kinds.
©2015 Isaac Oliver. All rights reserved. (P)2015 Simon & Schuster, Inc. All rights reserved.
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By Hal on 06-04-15

So funny!

Nothing, except Tina Fey's "Bossy Pants," has made me laugh so hard I had to pull the car over because I couldn't see the road thru the tears of laughter. Well done, Mr Oliver.

Read More Hide me

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

5 out of 5 stars
By ZacharyBinx on 09-16-15

Fun

This was such a fun book. It kept me entertained all throughout. Isaac has a wicked sense of humor. This book allowed me to laugh constantly and even get teary eyed from time to time. I loved it.

Read More Hide me

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By Deborah on 01-03-18

Didn’t want to turn it off

Bought this book on audible having never heard of the writer or the title but it was worth the punt! I consider myself broad minded but as well as making me titter as I flicked my feather duster over still shiny ornaments it made my cheeks warm a little too, thoroughly enjoyable

Read More Hide me
5 out of 5 stars
By Lokious on 06-03-15

More balls than a hungry hippo

Great audiobook. Firstly as a Britain I approach books read by Americans with trepidation, but Isaac has a speedy pace without too much 'draaaawl'.
The stories are deliriously filthy at times, but always painfully funny, sometimes emotional and often somehow familiar to everyday city living. Fully recommend!

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews
© Copyright 1997 - 2018 Audible, Inc