Ask a Mexican

  • by Gustavo Arellano
  • Narrated by William Dufris, Christine Marshall, James Herrera
  • 8 hrs and 49 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

An irreverent, hilarious, and informative look at Mexican American culture is taken by a rising star in the alternative media, as well as a new kid on the block in such mainstream venues as NPR, the Los Angeles Times, Today, and The Colbert Report. Gustavo Arellano has compiled the best questions about Mexican Americans from readers of his ¡Ask a Mexican! column in California's OC Weekly and uses them to explore the clichés of lowriders, busboys, and housekeepers; drunks and scoundrels; heroes and celebrities; and, most important, millions upon millions of law-abiding, patriotic American citizens and their illegal-immigrant cousins who represent some $600 billion in economic power.


What the Critics Say

"A welcome reprieve from common tiptoeing around the fraught subjects of race relations and immigration." (Publishers Weekly)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Good but long

It is extremely funny, but some of the stuff is repeated a couple of times. I had planned to listen to it on a 10hour drive and was happy to have another audiobook downloaded to the ipod.
Read full review

- Ana

Initially hilarious, clearly disasterous

Initially incredibly funny. I was quite pleased with the obvious background and even research that had been done. The first section contains many educational tidbits. Very regretably soon there after, the book deteriorates into very inappropriate language and repeated base narrative involving body parts. The language for the most part contained explitives in every other sentence. Sadly, this is not a book to share with the family or that can be recommended. It's sad because this book could have been very funny and very valuable in the educational potential the name bears. If audible had a return policy, this one would go back.
Read full review

- Gilbert "Sentient Being, Planet Earth"

Book Details

  • Release Date: 07-19-2007
  • Publisher: Tantor Audio