Wuthering Heights

  • by Emily Bronte
  • Narrated by Juliet Stevenson
  • 13 hrs and 23 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

The wild and passionate tale of Cathy and Heathcliff's impossible love for each other and its phenomenal setting on the blasted Yorkshire moors has to be one of the best-known love affairs in literature.
When it was first published in 1847, Wuthering Heights was greeted with a fair degree of outrage, not only for the open description of desire and disaster but for the almost unheard of method of telling the story using unreliable witnesses whose tales and points of view open out from each other, leaving the audience to piece together the truth of the story.
Only such novels as Mary Shelley's Frankenstein had previously attempted to challenge the reader in this way, and it is only in the last century that the true genius of Emily Brontë's work has begun to be appreciated.
Prepare to be as swept up and buffeted by the extraordinary power of Brontë's storytelling as Cathy and Heathcliff are by the winds of Wuthering Heights.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

A bizarre story, an ingenious performance!

Well, Heathcliff remains a psycho for me, but having listened to this book as an adult, I see that there are more reasons than just his sociopathic nature for his awfulness. Cathy is a tragic character who did love both Heathcliff and Edgar Linton, for such different reasons, and chose the safer, reliable life with Edgar, to the torment of both herself and Heathcliff... This is beautifully written, with rich, deep characters, but sheesh, what a dark and narrow world! Juliet Stevenson is brilliant as always, and I loved her short commentary here after the completion of the novel. Good stuff.
Read full review

- CourtneyWNY

Great Narration

Stevenson emulated each character with perfect poise. From all of Heathcliff's complexities to the adolescent Isabella, the novel was retold beautifully.
Read full review

- Teresa Castillo

Book Details

  • Release Date: 11-19-2015
  • Publisher: silksoundbooks Limited