Women in Love : Brangwen Family

  • by D. H. Lawrence
  • Narrated by Wanda McCaddon
  • Series: Brangwen Family
  • 18 hrs and 30 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

A powerful and engrossing tale of extremes and extremists, D. H. Lawrence's Women in Love follows the passionate relationships of two sisters, Gudrun and Ursula Brangwen, with their respective lovers, the ominous Gerald Crich and the charismatic but fragile Rupert Birkin. Beginning in a narrow-minded English colliery town and culminating amidst the ice and snow of the Alps, the abortive alliance between the two men and the couples' affairs are played out against the derangements of industrialism and the need to find new ways of living and better ways of dying.
A masterpiece that heralded the erotic consciousness of the 20th century, Lawrence considered Women in Love his best novel, exploring through it his belief that love is "the great creative process".


What the Critics Say

"His masterpiece.... An astonishing work that moves on several levels.... Lawrence compels us to admit that we live less finely than we should, whatever we are." (The New York Review of Books)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Make sure you start downloading well in advance

What made the experience of listening to Women in Love the most enjoyable?

I'd love to write a review of my listening experience of Women in Love, but I'm still waiting for it to arrive on my Kindle. 8 hours and counting so far.

Read full review

- Shirley


The premise of the book was good but with it's continual debating between characters it
exhausted me. Their debates are very liberal thinking for that day but they had no more
answers than they had questions. I waded through the book hoping for at least a good ending.
The ending was disappointing and I felt as if I'd wasted not only a credit but a lot of time
listening to it. The narrator's voice was so shrill with no variation between characters that
I often couldn't listen for more than 15 minutes at a time. This is why it gets a "1" star from me.
Read full review


Book Details

  • Release Date: 12-09-2010
  • Publisher: Tantor Audio