Twelve Tales from Life's Passing Parade

  • by Anton Chekhov
  • Narrated by William Coon
  • 2 hrs and 10 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

From the sublime to the ridiculous, Anton Chekhov saw it all. And he wrote about it as only a master storyteller can, capturing not only the nuances of human behavior, but also the motivations behind the behavior. Often, too, he found universal truths along the way. These stories cover a variety of themes, both comic and tragic, as his characters encounter religion, government bureaucracy, and each other. And although they were written long ago, they are still surprisingly fresh.
This collection includes the following stories: "A Story Without a Title", "Art", "The Student", "Ivan Matveyitch", "The Jeune Premier", "A Slander", "The Beggar", "A Malefactor", "Minds in Ferment", "The Looking Glass", "Old Age", and "On Trial".


What the Critics Say

"Chekhov's stories are as wonderful (and necessary) now as when they first appeared." (Raymond Carver)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Great Chekhov Shorts Collection & Good Narration

This is a particularly good selection of Chekhov short stories with good narration. I really like Chekhov short stories, but many collections have several loser stories or have poor (to horrible) narration. Virtually every one of these sorties was good (some were great) and the narration, while not perfect, was quite good (a tiny bit nasal for my taste). So far, this is the best collection of Chekhov short stories I have listened to from Audible. Very well worth the three bucks (note at this price don’t use a full credit).
Read full review

- Michael

Book Details

  • Release Date: 03-18-2011
  • Publisher: Eloquent Voice, LLC