Regular price: $10.32

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $10.32

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

A brand new collection of 13 short stories by the master of supernatural suspense and thrillers, exploring science fiction and fantasy themes. All of the stories in this volume follow a simple and classic pattern: exposition, conflict, resolution. Because of the short story format, there is not much room for complication or denouement, so these stories by nature are simpler than some of Wells' other work, and therefore will keep the listener entertained and engrossed!
Included in this collection are 'Filmer', 'The Magic Shop', 'The Valley of Spiders', 'The Truth About Pyecraft', 'Mr Skelmersdale in Fairyland', 'The Inexperienced Ghost', 'Jimmy Goggles the God', 'The New Accelerator', 'Mr Ledbetter's Vacation', 'The Stolen Body', 'Mr Brishner's Treasure', 'Miss Winchelsea's Heart', and 'A Dream of Armageddon'.
About the reader: John Banks is one of the UK's most prolific audiobook narrators, working for the likes of Big Finish, Audible, Random House and Games Workshop. He is a true multivoice, creating everything from monsters to marauding aliens. He is also an accomplished stage and TV actor.
About the author: Herbert George Wells was a novelist, teacher, historian and journalist who has become known as the "father of science fiction". His works have been adapted countless times and provided the basis for many literary and theatrical productions.
Public Domain (P)2017 Spokenworld Audio & Ladbroke Audio Ltd/Fantom Publishing
Show More Show Less
No Reviews are Available

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
4 out of 5 stars
By nk99 on 04-12-18

Another Side Of H.G. Wells

This is one of two H.G. Wells short story collections read by John Banks - the other being “The Door In The Wall And Other Stories” - and they differ somewhat in focus. Although best known for his science fiction, Wells wrote in a variety of genres, and both these collections feature stories of crime and romance alongside sci-fi and fantasy. In general though this collection tends towards light-hearted fantasy, tales of ghosts and fairies told with tongue firmly in cheek, whereas “The Door In The Wall” focuses more on serious science fiction, sometimes bordering on horror. I’d say this book is a good choice if you’re already familiar with Wells and want a deeper dive into his work, but probably not the best place to start if you’re new to his work.

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews
© Copyright 1997 - 2018 Audible, Inc