Tom Swift and his Submarine Boat: Under the Ocean for Sunken Treasure : Tom Swift

  • by Victor Appleton
  • Narrated by John Michaels
  • Series: Tom Swift
  • 4 hrs and 27 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Book 4 of the Tom Swift series opens with our hero's father completing an amazing submarine loaded with high-tech gadgetry in his backyard and ready to enter it into a government competition. Tom, however, discovers through the newspaper that a vessel has sunk containing $300,000 in gold (which was a lot of money back in 1910 when this book was published).
Tom and his friends decide to forgo the government prize of $50,000 to pursue the bigger one - encountering some new villains and despicable characters along the way. Every chapter is a cliffhanger making this audiobook a can't-put-your-earphones-down listening experience.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful


If you could sum up Tom Swift and his Submarine Boat: Under the Ocean for Sunken Treasure in three words, what would they be?

Loads of old fashioned fun.

Who was your favorite character and why?

Tom Swift, of course. This kid was genius who didn't let anything get in his way.

Did the narration match the pace of the story?

The narration of this book, and all the books in the series that I have listened to so far is the weakest part. He's a good reader, don't get me wrong, but it's like listening to my grandfather reading to me. But, if that's what you like, you'll like the narrator.

Any additional comments?

I love these Tom Swift adventures. I read some of them when I was a kid - they were old even back then - and they are charming, hearkening back to a much simpler time in America, when anything was possible; long before the government regulated fun out of existence. The stories contain politically incorrect elements, and these make them even more charming. Every boy should have access to these wonderful, character-shaping stories.

Read full review

- Mike Porter

Book Details

  • Release Date: 02-23-2012
  • Publisher: Spoken Realms