Time Regained

  • by Marcel Proust
  • Narrated by Neville Jason
  • 3 hrs and 58 mins
  • Abridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Lost in the blacked-out streets of Paris during the First World War, Marcel stumbles into a brothel and accidentally witnesses a shocking scene involving the Baron de Charlus. Later, at a reception given by the Prince de Guermantes, his meditations on the passage of time lead to his determination to embark on his life's work at last. Time Regained is the twelfth and final part of Marcel Proust's Remembrance of Things Past cycle.


Audible Editor Reviews

If ever there was a writer whose work does not conveniently fit into short plot summaries, it’s Marcel Proust. Nevertheless, Time Regained is the seventh and final volume in Proust’s famously challenging and overwhelming In Search of Lost Time opus.
Set in Paris during World War I, this literary classic is a deeply profound meditation on time and human consciousness. Narrated in ethereal, dreamlike tones with flawless French pronunciation by Neville Jason, the patient listener with a strong love of language will reap In Search of Lost Time’s considerable rewards.


Title Not For Sale In This Country

Audible does not currently have the rights to sell this title in your country.

Please consider another book.

Continue Browsing

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

It's Proust, for goodness sake

Proust may not be your cup of tea, but if he is, its a terrific narration.
Read full review

- Tom

Abridged and no translator listed

Would you recommend this book to a friend? Why or why not?

Maybe,depending on what she wanted out of Proust

What did you like best about this story?

It's Proust. 'nuff said

What about Neville Jason’s performance did you like?

Excellent reader. Multiple dialects and proper emphasis

Do you think Time Regained needs a follow-up book? Why or why not?

It's the last of a 7 volume series; I don't think so

Any additional comments?

Those who listen to or read Proust aren't the sort who want Cliff Notes, or abridgements. Please, get Mr Jason back to work and give us the whole thing!

Please, please please. Proust wrote in French, not English. It is a crime not to tell us who the translator is. There are multiple translations and it matters. It really does. If we circulated Naxos or Audible work and stripped attribution from it we would be sued. If I were the translator of this version of Time Regained, I would have my lawyer write to Naxos and Audible until my name were restored as the translator.

Read full review

- Plain English

Book Details

  • Release Date: 06-19-2001
  • Publisher: Naxos AudioBooks