The Works of Edgar Allan Poe: Volume 4

  • by Edgar Allan Poe
  • Narrated by Kevin Stillwell
  • 9 hrs and 53 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

A collection of classic works by Edgar Allan Poe, American author, poet, editor, and literary critic. Best known for his tales of mystery and the macabre, Poe was one of the earliest American practitioners of the short story and is considered the inventor of the detective fiction genre. He is further credited with contributing to the emerging genre of science fiction. He was the first well-known American writer to try to earn a living through writing alone, resulting in a financially difficult life and career.
This volume includes: "The Devil in the Belfry", "Lionizing", "X-ing a Paragraph", "Metzengerstein", "The System of Doctor Tarr and Professor Fether", "How to Write a Blackwood Article", "A Predicament", "Mystification", "Diddling", "The Angel of the Odd", "Mellonta Tauta", "The Duc de L'omelette", "The Oblong Box", "Loss of Breath", "The Man That Was Used Up", "The Business Man", "The Landscape Garden", "Maelzel's Chess Player", "The Power of Words", "The Colloquy of Monos and Unas", "The Conversation of Eiros and Charmion", and "Shadow: A Parable".


Audible Editor Reviews

Edgar Allen Poe’s poems and stories of horror and mystery blend wit with the macabre. His inventive narratives and erudite use of language have delighted countless fans since his career was tragically in the early 19th century. Here is a selection of works from one of the most admired and entertaining American intellects.
Volume 4 is performed by Kevin Stillwell whose articulation and melodious cadence recalls one of Poe’s most memorable readers, Vincent Price. Included in this volume are a selection of short stories, essays, and dialogues drawing heavily on Poe’s comedic side with satires, social critiques, conmen, and allegorical tales that verge on the absurd and always enchant.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

No customer reviews available

Book Details

  • Release Date: 02-14-2012
  • Publisher: Audible Studios