The Waste Land & Four Quartets

  • by T.S. Eliot
  • Narrated by Paul Scofield
  • 1 hrs and 35 mins
  • Radio/TV Program

Publisher's Summary

These are masterly readings, by renowned thespian Paul Schofield, of two substantial works of poetry by T.S. Eliot. "The Wasteland", first published in 1922, is one of Eliot's most influential works and has long been on the syllabus for A-Level English Literature. "Four Quartets" consists of four long poems, first published between 1935 and 1942. They are linked by common themes, and are individually "Burnt Norton", "East Coker", "The Dry Salvages", and "Little Gidding".


What the Critics Say

"Complex, erudite, cryptic, satiric, spiritually earnest, and occasionally lyrical, ['The Waste Land'] became one of the most recognizable landmarks of modernism....['the "Four Quartets'] were the first of Eliot's poems to reach a wide public and they succeeded in communicating in modern idiom the fundamentals of Christian faith and experiences." (The Concise Oxford Companion to English Literature)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Help -- I can't stop listening to this

Especially Four Quartets. Is there some kind of Four Quarterts recovery group for addicts?
Read full review

- Louis


Paul Schofield's reading of these two poems is nothing short of masterful. Even after years of reading and loving "The Four Quartets", I found my appreciation of the rhythm, language and structure growing. There is nothing better than listening to poetry read aloud by a master. I highly recommend this selection.
Read full review

- Judith

Book Details

  • Release Date: 04-26-2007
  • Publisher: BBC Worldwide Limited