The Time Machine

  • by H. G. Wells
  • Narrated by Roger May
  • 3 hrs and 53 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

At a dinner party in Richmond, the host tells an astonishing story of his travels into the future, where, at first, it seems that man has moved on to a higher plane of existence - suffering and war seem to have been eliminated. But in fact there are two races living on the Earth: the Eloi, a leisured, decadent, androgynous group; and the Morlocks, an underground tribe of bestial workers. When his time machine is stolen, the traveller is stranded in this strange new world and discovers that the truth about it is far darker than he could imagine....
One of the greatest science-fiction stories ever written, The Time Machine is an adventure story, a social commentary, and a dark warning of the dangers facing humanity.


Audible Editor Reviews

A time traveler tells his invited guests about his journey to a future world composed of the Eloi and the underground Morlocks, who prey on the Eloi by night. Roger May's narration has a formal quality that matches the language and tone of Wells's allegorical adventure. At the same time, May's dramatic descriptions of the future world and the time traveler's horror as he faces the Morlocks are both exciting and playful. Listeners may find themselves debating the credibility of the story, as the time traveler's visitors do. May's narration is an excellent presentation of this science fiction classic and will help keep Wells's imagined future alive for a new generation.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

An excellent story, skillfully narrated.

H.G. Wells' masterpiece, a story of awesome imagination. Roger May's narration truly makes it live. Highly recommended.
Read full review

- Maldoror


I mostly use audio books to help me sleep. This combination of story and narrator was so good I kept having to extend the set time on the sleep timer. Really good. Would highly recommend.
Read full review

- Pat Kelly

Book Details

  • Release Date: 10-14-2010
  • Publisher: Naxos AudioBooks