The Snows of Kilimanjaro and Other Stories

  • by Ernest Hemingway
  • Narrated by Stacy Keach
  • 4 hrs and 54 mins
  • Abridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

The ideal introduction to the genius of Ernest Hemingway, The Snows of Kilimanjaro and Other Stories contains ten of Hemingway's most acclaimed and popular works of short fiction. Selected from Winner Take Nothing, Men Without Women, and The Fifth Column and the First Forty-Nine Stories, this collection includes "The Killers," the first of Hemingway's mature stories to be accepted by an American periodical; the autobiographical "Fathers and Sons," which alludes, for the first time in Hemingway's career, to his father's suicide; "The Short Happy Life of Francis Macomber," a "brilliant fusion of personal observation, hearsay and invention," wrote Hemingway's biographer, Carlos Baker; and the title story itself, of which Hemingway said: "I put all the true stuff in," with enough material, he boasted, to fill four novels. Beautiful in their simplicity, startling in their originality, and unsurpassed in their craftsmanship, the stories in this volume highlight one of America's master storytellers at the top of his form.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Two vantage points

Earnest Hemmingway is such a household name that everybody thinks he/she must have read Hemmingway at some time or the other. Many won't admit they could have lived so long and not read Hemmingway.
It's hard to believe that there is only one voice reading these stories. Stacy Keach makes these stories come alive because of his mastery of accents and interpretation. Keach's reading makes them seem as fresh as a new day.
Read full review

- Mr. Ronald B. Blank

Extraordinary reading.

Stacy Keach, who I am proud to say I've met when he was playing Ken on "Titus" is an amiable and talented individual. Reading Hemingway, he is absolutely superb. My kids were fascinated by the stories and absorbed by Mr. Keach's telling of it. Truly sublime.
Read full review

- Septimus MacGhilleglas

Book Details

  • Release Date: 06-30-2008
  • Publisher: Simon & Schuster Audio