The Small House at Allington : Chronicles of Barsetshire

  • by Anthony Trollope
  • Narrated by David Shaw-Parker
  • Series: Chronicles of Barsetshire
  • 25 hrs and 45 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

The fifth novel in the Chronicles of Barsetshire, The Small House at Allington, concerns the lives of the two Dale girls, Lily and Bell, who live at the Small House. While Bell is in love with the local doctor James Crofts, Lily is pursued by two men: the worldly, rich and handsome Adolphus Crosbie and the poor but honest Johnny Eames. With each determined to gain her hand in marriage, who will she choose? Enshrined as a literary classic, The Small House takes the listener on a delightful visit to rural England and presents an insightful, compassionate, and amusing examination of human nature, along with Trollope's signature flashes of genius.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

A great story and I will listen to it again!

Just loved it and I wish the book did not stop there. Hoping there will be a next book so I can find out what happened to the main characters.
Thank you! A great book to listen too!
Read full review

- Esther Juon Veitch

Book Details

  • Release Date: 12-23-2014
  • Publisher: Naxos AudioBooks