The Poetry of Lord Byron, Volume IX: Hebrew Melodies and Other Poems : The Poetry of Lord Byron

  • by Lord Byron
  • Narrated by Robert Bethune
  • Series: The Poetry of Lord Byron
  • 4 hrs and 33 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

This volume of Lord Byron’s poetry contains four sets of his poems, starting with his famous book of poetry, Hebrew Melodies, and continuing with the Poems of the Separation, poetry he wrote in the period 1816-1823, his “Jeux d’Esprit”, and a group of poems written in homage to the great poets of Italy. Hebrew Melodies is a collection of lyrics Byron wrote to be set to music, as indeed they were, by a composer named Isaac Nathan. Byron wrote that the set was inspired by Jewish sacred music, but he does not seem to have taken that altogether seriously, as three of the set are simply love songs with no sacred aspect to them whatsoever. One of those, "She Walks in Beauty", is very justly one of Byron's most famous poems.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

No customer reviews available

Book Details

  • Release Date: 12-02-2010
  • Publisher: Freshwater Seas