The Odyssey

  • by Homer, Robert Fitzgerald - translator
  • Narrated by Dan Stevens
  • 10 hrs and 15 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Robert Fitzgerald's translation of The Odyssey has been the standard translation for more than three generations of students and poets. Macmillan Audio is delighted to publish the first ever audio edition of this classic work, the greatest of all epic poems. Fitzgerald's supple verse is ideally suited for audio, recounting the story of Odysseus' long journey back to his wife and home after the Trojan War. Homer's tale of love, adventure, food and drink, sensual pleasure, and mortal danger reaches the English-language listener in all its glory.
In keeping with the oral tradition of the time, Dan Stevens, whose many celebrated performances include Downton Abbey's Matthew Crawley, makes this epic tale come alive. The listener becomes totally immersed in the adventure and drama of the story – this is the way The Odyssey was meant to be experienced.
Also included on the program is a portion of the poem read in ancient Greek so that listeners may experience the lyricism and music of the original language.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Great performance

It goes without saying that this greatest of poems is worthy of honor. The narration could not be better. I recommend highly, as well as the Iliad by the same translator and narrator.
Read full review


Another beauty

Everything I said about Stevens' reading of The Iliad is true for this one, and then some. It's a nearly perfect marriage of translator and narrator. (Homer's not half bad either.)

The structure of The Odyssey is a wonder: multiple layers, multiple points of view, all of it flowing forth effortlessly.

Fitzgerald's translation of The Odyssey was my first contact with Homer. There are other translations that are more accurate, on a line by line basis; but few that throw off as many sparks of compact beauty.
Read full review

- Tad Davis

Book Details

  • Release Date: 09-02-2014
  • Publisher: Macmillan Audio