The Making of a Marchioness and The Methods of Lady Walderhurst

  • by Frances Hodgson Burnett
  • Narrated by Bobbie Frohman, Full Supporting Cast
  • 8 hrs and 47 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

In early 1901, 15 years after Little Lord Fauntleroy and 10 years before The Secret Garden, Frances Hodgson Burnett wrote The Making of a Marchioness. She followed this short novel in the spring of the same year with the sequel, The Methods of Lady Walderhurst. The satisfying Cinderella quality of the first book which illustrated the harsh realism of Edwardian society, combines with the exciting melodramatic developments in the second book to create an intriguing story that continues to entertain us today.
Author Frances Hodgson Burnett (1849–1924) was an English-born author of romances and books for children. After moving to America in 1865 she established a popular reputation with the publication of That Lass o'Lowries in 1877. She is best known for such stories as Little Lord Fauntleroy, The Little Princess, and The Secret Garden.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Not what I expected

I read the secret Garden years ago and loved it. This was a very different kind of book; the characters were very different in that the men and women's characters were new types to me. Our modern era has a very different view on the character of people in society. A very interesting book.
Read full review

- Melita

Book Details

  • Release Date: 08-29-2013
  • Publisher: Alcazar AudioWorks