The Humorous Short Stories of Mark Twain

  • by Mark Twain
  • Narrated by Bobbie Frohman
  • 7 hrs and 43 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

This delightful collection of gems by Mark Twain begins with the story of a town called Hadleyburg, which prides itself on the honesty of its citizens. One day a citizen of Hadleyburg offends a stranger passing through, who vows to take his revenge by revealing just how corruptible the sanctimonious town really is. Twain is at his best here, poking fun at common hypocrisy as the self-satisfied pillars of the community are done in by their own greed.
Other stories in the collection include:
1. The Man Who Corrupted Hadleyburg
2. The Double Barrelled Detective Story
3. The Jumping Frog of Calaveras County
4. The Million Dollar Bank Note
5. Benton and Mills
6. A Tale
7. Cannibalism in the Cars
8. The Stolen White Elephant
9. The Man Who Put Up at Gadsby's
10. The Good Little Boy
11. The Bad Little Boy
12. Baker's Blue Jay Yarn
Mark Twain (1835–1910) was born Samuel L. Clemens in the town of Florida, Missouri. One of the most popular and influential authors our nation has ever produced, his keen wit and incisive satire earned him praise from both critics and peers. He has been called not only the greatest humorist of his age but the father of American literature.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Poorly Edited

What could have made this a 4 or 5-star listening experience for you?

The performances were generally good... However somewhere along the way I realized that a sentence would be repeated, and then I noticed it more and more. It became very annoying by the end. This book was poorly edited... I believe the voice actor was asked to repeat a sentence, and somebody forgot to edit the repeats out. OOPS!

Read full review

- Candice

Poorly edited is right!

There are some really good stories in this collection. However, numerous passages are repeated. The first time, I thought, "Oh, that was strange." But after numerous times, it is annoying.
Read full review

- John

Book Details

  • Release Date: 04-21-2008
  • Publisher: Alcazar AudioWorks