The Great Poets: Gerard Manley Hopkins

  • by Gerard Manley Hopkins
  • Narrated by Jeremy Northam
  • 1 hrs and 1 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

A collection of the best-known poems by Gerard Manley Hopkins (1844-1889). One of the Victorian era's greatest writers, Hopkins' reputation has continued to grow since his death.
Our Great Poets series, launched in 2007, has proven very popular, offering many of the best-loved poems by popular poets, well read by leading actors. This collection includes "The Windhover", "The Caged Skylark", "Carrion Comfort", "Spring", and "Fall and Inversnaid".


Audible Editor Reviews

A graduate of the Old Vic Theatre School in Bristol, England, Jeremy Northam has played many roles, including that of Saint Thomas More in Showtime's The Tudors. The son of two professors, he is perfectly cast to read a poet whose best-loved works include "That Nature is a Heraclitean Fire and the comfort of the Resurrection." Difficult lines come trippingly off his tongue. This, for instance from "Windhover": "daylight's dauphin, dapple-dawn-drawn Falcon . . ." There are 38 poems, each beautifully wrought.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Excellent encounter with the poet.

What made the experience of listening to The Great Poets the most enjoyable?

The variety of moods achieved in selection and voice.

What was your reaction to the ending? (No spoilers please!)

Irrelevant. It is not a story.

What does Jeremy Northam bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you just read the book?

His voice.

Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

No. It is not a story.

Any additional comments?

I found this a remarkable achievement of reading

Read full review

- Robert

GMHOPKINS -what's not to love

There have been querulous, dowdy, unfeeling readings of gmh - this is not one of those. Jeremy Northam's reading brings richness to an already sumptuous repast.
Read full review

- Marianne Messina

Book Details

  • Release Date: 03-16-2009
  • Publisher: Naxos AudioBooks