The Great Poets: Alfred Lord Tennyson

  • by Alfred Tennyson
  • Narrated by Michael Pennington
  • 1 hrs and 6 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

The 200th anniversary of the birth of Alfred, Lord Tennyson (1809 - 1892), one of the most popular of poets, is celebrated in 2009. Works such as "The Charge of the Light Brigade", "Crossing the Bar", and "Tears, Idle Tears" have made him an internationally famous figure, and the second most quoted writer of all time (after Shakespeare). Tennyson's poetic works encompass a great range of styles, settings and personae, and are known for their emotional resonance and powerful imagery. Naxos AudioBooks's popular The Great Poets series marks the anniversary with an audio bringing together all the key works, read by veteran reader Michael Pennington.


Audible Editor Reviews

There's no need to dip into the lesser works in a collection of Tennyson, and Naxos has made a fine selection here, mixing the best known ("The Charge of the Light Brigade," "The Lady of Shalott," "Ulysses," "The Lotus-Eaters") with others that will be less familiar to casual readers. One might quibble with some of Michael Pennington's line readings, but he has made thoughtful interpretations, and his voice is quite capable of meeting the musical demands of the poetry. There's nothing new here for Tennyson's fans, but the presentation is a strong introduction to a master's range of style and emotion.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

One of the most popular Victorian poets

The poetry of depth and emotional profundity, of versatile styles and complex language. As usual, Naxos did a wonderful job of selecting the poems.
Here's the list of A.Tennyson's works:
1. The Charge of the Light Brigade
2. Song of the Lotus Eaters
3. The Lady of Shalott
4. Vivian's Song
5. Break, Break, Break
6. In the Valley of Cauteretz
7. Ulysses
8. Tears, Idle Tears
9. Sweet and Low
10. Blow, Bugle, Blow
11. Swallow, Swallow
12. Home They Brought Her Warrior Dead
13. Summer Night
14. Tithonus
15. The Passing of Arthur/Morte d'Arthur
16. The Brook
17. Come Into the Garden Maud
18. In the Garden at Swainston
19. Come Down, O Maid
20. In Memoriam (excerpts):
In Memoriam VII
In Memoriam XI
In Memoriam L
In Memoriam LI
In Memoriam CXXVI/126
21.Crossing the Bar
Read full review


A Savory Performance

I must confess that I was not originally a big fan of Tennyson...multiple encounters with Michael Pennington has quite altered my opinion. It's somehow all linked to the lack of communication - printed words, especially of poetic verse, must be rightly interpreted, and then verbally conveyed in such a way as enable the mind to embrace the depth and the beauty of the authors meaning. This narrator has the gift to do just that.

One technical negativo is the format - the poems are not divided in such a way as to allow for the selection of individual works, rather, it is simply one large recording with no breaks...
Read full review

- Don AbrĂ¡n

Book Details

  • Release Date: 08-13-2009
  • Publisher: Naxos Audiobooks