The Complete Stories of Sherlock Holmes, Volume 3 : Complete Holmes

  • by Arthur Conan Doyle
  • Narrated by Charlton Griffin
  • Series: Complete Holmes
  • 22 hrs and 35 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Arthur Conan Doyle never wasted time in getting his stories moving. His plots are always direct and refreshingly lucid, and the narrative has a velocity that sweeps you along right to the end. This was no doubt a large part of his immense worldwide success. Not surprisingly, each time he tried to end the series, his fans would howl in protest. But, as he says in the preface to his last collection of Sherlock Holmes stories, all good things must come to an end. And so it is with this series, as we have now arrived at the end of the Sherlock Holmes tales, Conan Doyle's most magnificent creation.
This last volume contains one novel, The Valley of Fear, and two collections of short stories: His Last Bow and The Case Book of Sherlock Holmes.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

a list of what you'll find in Volume 3

His Last Bow (short stories, published 1908-1913, 1917)

The Adventure of Wisteria Lodge
The Adventure of the Cardboard Box*(see below)
The Adventure of the Red Circle
The Adventure of the Bruce-Partington Plans
The Adventure of the Dying Detective
The Adventure of Lady Frances Carfax
The Adventure of the Devil's Foot
His Last Bow (told in the third person)

The Valley of Fear (Serialized novel published 1914-1915)

The Casebook of Sherlock Holmes (short stories, published 1921-1927)

The Adventure of the The Illustrious Client
The Adventure of the Blanched Soldier (Holmes narrates)
The Adventure of the Mazarin Stone (told in the third person)
The Adventure of the Three Gables
The Adventure of the Sussex Vampire
The Adventure of the Three Garridebs
The Problem of Thor Bridge
The Adventure of the Creeping Man
The Adventure of the Lion's Man (Holmes narrates)
The Adventure of the Veiled Lodger
The Adventure of Shoscombe Old Place
The Adventure of the Retired Colourman

*(The Adventure of the Cardboard Box chronologically appears in the canon in The Memoirs of Sherlock Holmes - circa 1892-1893 - but, for some reason, appears in this Volume 3 audiobook.)
Read full review

- T.

Complete at last

Volume 3 finally finishes the Complete Stories of Sherlock Holmes. Included among the 3 volumes are every short story and novel that Sir Arthur Conan Doyle wrote starring this illustrious detective. No library is complete without Sherlock Holmes on the (proverbial) shelf.
Read full review

- David

Book Details

  • Release Date: 02-01-2011
  • Publisher: Audio Connoisseur