The Complete Stories of Sherlock Holmes, Volume 1 : Complete Holmes

  • by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle
  • Narrated by Charlton Griffin
  • Series: Complete Holmes
  • 20 hrs and 16 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

First appearing in print in 1890, the character of Sherlock Holmes has now become synonymous worldwide with the concept of a super sleuth. His creator, Conan Doyle, imbued his detective hero with intellectual power, acute observational abilities, a penchant for deductive reasoning and a highly educated use of forensic skills. Indeed, Doyle created the first fictional private detective who used what we now recognize as modern scientific investigative techniques. Doyle ended up writing four novels and 56 short stories featuring Holmes and his companion, Dr. Watson. All but four are told in the first person by Watson, two by Holmes, and two are written in the third person. Together, this series of beautifully written Victorian literature has sold more copies than any other books in the English language, with the exceptions of the Bible and Shakespeare.Volume 1 in this series consists of two novels, A Study in Scarlet and The Sign of Four, followed by a collection of short stories entitled The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

mouth watering

The only problem I have with this series is that I am awaiting the next episode with impatience! I bought this after much comparing, I wanted a voice I could enjoy, one who could do a variety of voices, and a series that didn't end up costing a lot, as I intend to own every story. This is value for money, and worth the wait. The only improvement possible is a multiple cast, but I chose cost over that.
Well done! and thanks for getting back to me - there will be three volumes when finished, and the second is ready and due to be offered for download any time now.
Read full review

- David

a list of what you'll find in Volume 1

A Study in Scarlet (novel; 1887)

The Sign of the Four (novel; 1890)

The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes (short stories, published in The Strand between July, 1891 and December, 1892):

A Scandal in Bohemia
The Red-Headed League
A Case of Identity
The Boscombe Valley Mystery
The Five Orange Pips
The Man with the Twisted Lip
The Adventure of the Blue Carbuncle
The Adventure of the Speckled Band
The Adventure of the Engineer's Thumb
The Adventure of the Noble Bachelor
The Adventure of the Beryl Coronet
The Adventure of the Copper Beeches

From what I can tell from a quick internet search, Volume 1 of this audiobook covers the Holmes cannon faithfully from the first. I'm eager to start Volume 2 to see if the coverage will be as comprehensive.

I liked Charlton Griffin's Sherlock and Dr. Watson, but I didn't like his portrayal of any of the female characters (they sounded so wimpy and foolish, even when they were written otherwise).

I read several of the short stories, out of order, years ago. Listening to this audiobook to "read" the cannon from start to finish is great because I can follow the character development of Homles and Watson, and their relationship.
Read full review

- T.

Book Details

  • Release Date: 10-15-2009
  • Publisher: Audio Connoisseur