The Complete Short Stories, Volume One

  • by W. Somerset Maugham
  • Narrated by Charlton Griffin
  • 19 hrs and 47 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

There have been few masters of the short story as popular as W. S. Maugham. His dry wit, worldweary loftiness, pungent cynicism, and penetrating powers of observation have contributed to the creation of some of the greatest short stories ever written.
Over a long period, Maugham continued to write stories that were highly interesting and controversial. With a creative verve for plot development and a jaded eye for the foibles of mankind, Maugham's stories crackle with the irrepressible energy of a master story teller.
All of Maugham's short stories in this and subsequent volumes will be presented in the order in which they were published, beginning in 1921.The stories in Volume One are:

1. Rain
2. The Fall of Edward Barnard
3. Mackintosh
4. Red
5. Honolulu
6. The Pool
7. The Letter
8. Before the Party
9. The Force of Circumstance
10. The Outstation
11. The Yellow Streak
12. P. & O.
13. Jane
14. The Round Dozen
15. The Creative Impulse
The Complete Short Stories, Volume One will continue in volumes two and three.
All stories not in public domain are the property of and published by agreement with the W. Somerset Maugham Royalty Trust.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

A masterful production of Maugham's short stories.

Charlton Griffin narrates these short stories by W. Somerset Maugham with a keen sense for each character's delivery. Griffin's love of this author shines through his Audio Connoisseur recording.

To listen to these works is to be transported to the Pacific Islands and various ports in Asia. Maugham spent much of his life in this part of the world. He found the mixture of cultures there in the early 20th Century to be fascinating, absurd, tragic and mysterious. One can never predict how the typical Westerner will react to the pressures of such strange, tropical surroundings. Maugham made much of this, but never went for the simple surprise ending in his short stories. Many of these works are quite disturbing in their portrayal of the moral weakness of Westerners when immersed in the seeming anonymity of the Tropics.
Read full review

- J. J. Kuzma

Wonderful introduction to WSM

I'd never read anything by Somerset Maugham before, and after the first couple of stories I wondered what all the fuss was about. I'm glad I kept on, because the master storyteller soon emerged in subsequent tales and didn't let up. I will be moving on to the remaining volumes in this series as quickly as I can. The reader is sometimes a bit leaden, and there is an unnecessary musical soundtrack at the beginning and end of each tale, which comes across like a cheesy radio production. But all in all, this is wonderful stuff!
Read full review

- JHMore

Book Details

  • Release Date: 06-05-2013
  • Publisher: Audio Connoisseur