The Age of Reason

  • by Thomas Paine
  • Narrated by Jeff Moon
  • 6 hrs and 15 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

It has been my intention, for several years past, to publish my thoughts upon religion; I am well aware of the difficulties that attend the subject, and from that consideration, had reserved it to a more advanced period of life. I intended it to be the last offering I should make to my fellow citizens of all nations, and that at a time when the purity of the motive that induced me to it could not admit of a question, even by those who might disapprove the work. The circumstance that has now taken place in France, of the total abolition of the whole national order of priesthood, and of everything appertaining to compulsive systems of religion, and compulsive articles of faith, has not only precipitated my intention, but rendered a work of this kind exceedingly necessary, lest, in the general wreck of superstition, of false systems of government, and false theology, we lose sight of morality, of humanity, and of the theology that is true. As several of my colleagues, and others of my fellow citizens of France, have given me the example of making their voluntary and individual profession of faith, I also will make mine; and I do this with all that sincerity and frankness with which the mind of man communicates with itself.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

This was written when? So applicable today

I'm amazed that it took me so long to find this book, as famous as it is, since it reflects very largely things that I always felt were "wrong" with organized religion throughout most of my life. I got a bit of a chuckle reading through portions of this book where Paine was painstakingly endeavoring to convince the reader on why there are seasons due to the tilt of the earth, revolutions as days, years around the sun, and further describing orbits of the 'SIX' PLANETS in our solar system. Astrological knowledge perhaps not widely held in 1794, but not quite correct and less than possessed by most 10 year olds today. For the rest, it amazes me how Paine can point out all the inconsistencies and contradictions of the Bible very convincingly, and all the contrivances of the Church to organize fairly arbitrary collections of stories for the intent of power and profit. Yet, generally speaking, two hundred years after making such compelling observations, people are still no closer to seeing it with open eyes.
Read full review

- Chris

Excellent Narration

Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

Yes absolutely. Eye opening, well written literature.

What other book might you compare The Age of Reason to and why?

Common Sense, Paine's other piece

What about Jeff Moon’s performance did you like?

I believe Jeff was a terrific narrator. Really held my interest. Perfect voice for this type of literature.

Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

I finished it in three sittings. I will be listening to it again soon.. I loved it!

Read full review

- Amazon Customer

Book Details

  • Release Date: 04-07-2017
  • Publisher: Revolutionary Audio