Regular price: $12.59

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $12.59

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Editorial Reviews

Tales of the Fish Patrol is a collection of seven stories written by Jack London, and based on his teenaged experiences as an oyster pirate-turned-Fish Patrolman. London describes his entanglements with Chinese and Greek poachers with his trademark verve and narrative brilliance, as well as the area surrounding the San Francisco Bay. Jonathan Reese gives a stolid, measured performance that captures London's self-possessed masculinity in the face of some truly dangerous scenarios. Tales of the Fish Patrol is a thrilling account, and an intriguing snapshot of life in San Francisco in late 1800s, by one of America's great storytellers.
Show More Show Less

Publisher's Summary

In this classic collection of stories drawn from his own experiences, author Jack London looks back on his days as a teenager aboard the fishing boats of San Francisco Bay. In the early 1900s, men of all stripes descended on these waters to plunder its rich oyster beds. To stop the run on the waters, a patrol was established. London began his youthful adventures on the wrong side of the law, as an oyster pirate. But conscience and common sense got the better of him, and he became a member of the Fish Patrol. The decision satisfied even his legendary appetite for excitement. Placing us smack in the middle of San Francisco at the height of its most reckless days, Tales of the Fish Patrol is vintage Jack London, tales of adventure from a world-class raconteur.
©1923 Public Domain; (P)2008 Tantor
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
2 out of 5 stars
By Matthew on 01-17-11

Good Book, Strange Reading

As are most of Jack London's books, this one didn't disappoint. The style of the reader however makes it difficult to fallow the story fluidly. He has a tenancy to read as though he is just reading a list of random sentences by vocalizing the last word of each sentence with the same tone and a long pause before beginning the next sentence.

Read More Hide me

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews
© Copyright 1997 - 2018 Audible, Inc