Regular price: $19.57

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $19.57

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

A fabulous way to experience twenty of Shakespeare's thirty-seven plays, this retelling of the stories in prose was originally published just for children. Keeping Shakespeare's own words whenever possible, but making the plots and language easily understandable, this very readable collection has entertained and informed generations of adults as well. It is the ideal primer for anyone interested in becoming familiar with the works of the great bard. The plays summarized in this classic work are: The Tempest; A Midsummer Night's Dream; The Winter's Tale; Much Ado About Nothing; As You Like It; The Two Gentlemen of Verona; The Merchant of Venice; Cymbeline; King Lear; Macbeth; All's Well that Ends Well; The Taming of the Shrew; The Comedy of Errors; Measure for Measure; Twelfth Night; Timon of Athens; Romeo and Juliet, Hamlet; Othello; and Pericles, Prince of Tyre.
(P)1993 by Blackstone Audiobooks
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By Erica on 01-07-08


We read these for our homeschool program. It is great for the kids to be able to listen to them as well.
Well read and includes all 20 of the stories from the Lamb's book.

Read More Hide me

6 of 6 people found this review helpful

4 out of 5 stars
By Twilight Realm on 06-13-07

Especially good for kids

Just so you can understand, this book re-tells Shakespeare's plays with a few direct quotes in a story format. We read this book for homeschool and I downloaded the audio so we can listen to the stories again. It's a great way to introduce kids to Shakespeare because they can follow the complicated plots more easily and really get a handle on what's going on. They're not too long so they don't get bored though sometimes I have to stop and review who's who and what's going on. My nine year old adhd son likes to act out these stories and remembers them too. He also understands references adults sometimes make to Shakespeare. (They will help adults to understand Shakespeare better too.)

Read More Hide me

11 of 12 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
1 out of 5 stars
By Mike on 06-08-07

Too much for your money!

The content is good, the problem I find is it impossible to navigate. I've ended up with a huge file that I need to take pot luck with when I need to find a particular item.

My advice is to buy the seperate items and make life a great deal easier for yourself.

Read More Hide me

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews
© Copyright 1997 - 2018 Audible, Inc