Stories from Shakespeare - The Plantagenets

  • by David Timson
  • Narrated by Benjamin Soames, Clare Corbett, Hugh Ross, David Timson, Jonathan Keeble
  • 3 hrs and 53 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Naxos AudioBooks presents the history of the Plantaganets as seen through the eyes of Shakespeare. These easy-to-understand introductions feature key speeches and scenes from the plays themselves, and are very accessible for children approaching Shakespeare for the first time, as well as being an invaluable aid to the history of the Plantaganets, from Richard II to Richard III. This set covers Richard II, Henry IV parts 1 and 2, Henry V, Henry VI parts 1, 2, and 3, and Richard III. It is read by an outstanding cast of English classical actors, and introduced by Anton Lesser.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Well done

This book is as promised: a concise introduction to the plays of Shakespeare for older children. The actors performing the roles are outstanding, and David Timson's narration is beautiful. As with other children's collections, the salacious bits are glossed over or eliminated, but the substance of the story remains intact. Themes of tragedy, heroism, morality, and much more provide opportunities for further discussion. As opposed to written texts, listening helps to develop an ear for the unique language of Shakespeare and provides a preliminary foundation for future theatrical experience.
Read full review

- Die Falknerin

Book Details

  • Release Date: 09-13-2010
  • Publisher: Naxos AudioBooks