Sense and Sensibility

  • by Jane Austen
  • Narrated by Marion Castle
  • 12 hrs and 17 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Sense and Sensibility is a sharply detailed portrait of the decorum surrounding courtship and the importance of marriage for women in early 19th-century upper-class English society. The story revolves around Elinor and Marianne Dashwood who, as members of the upper class, cannot "work" for a living and must therefore make a suitable marriage to ensure their livelihood. Elinor is a sensible, rational creature, while her younger sister, Marianne, is wildly romantic - a characteristic that offers Austen plenty of scope for both satire and compassion.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Much better than the Victoria McGee version

This is much, much better than the same book narrated by Victoria McGee. If you're debating between a couple versions, you can't go wrong with this one. I actually listened part-way to the other version, couldn't take another second of the robotic narrator, and switched to this one. Marion Castle is very expressive and interesting. She has a nice cadence to her voice, which suits the story. The only reason I'm not giving her 5 stars as a narrator is because so far, no one can outshine Lindsay Duncan as a narrator for Austen. If you haven't heard Duncan's version of Pride and Prejudice, I highly recommend it, too. However, Marion Castle is very good, and I would happily download other books she narrates in the future. I've learned my lesson with my Sense and Sensibility experience. The narrator really can make or break the story, and I'll be sure to pay more attention to the samples before downloading in future.
Read full review

- A. Thompson

The reader is very hard to listen to.

What disappointed you about Sense and Sensibility?

I love this story, but I cannot listen to this reader

How did the narrator detract from the book?

You can only hear half of what she is saying.

Read full review

- marva

Book Details

  • Release Date: 12-31-2011
  • Publisher: Cherry Hill Publishing