Poets of the Great War

  • by Wilfred Owen, Siegfried Sassoon, Isaac Rosenberg
  • Narrated by Michael Maloney, Jasper Britton
  • 2 hrs and 0 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Here are the extraordinary writings of a generation who fought through a war of unprecedented destructive power, and who had to find new voices to express the horror of what they discovered. The great names - Owen, Sassoon - are fully represented, but there are also many poems by lesser-known or unexpected figures, ranging from serving soldiers like Isaac Rosenberg and Richard Aldington to women such as Edith Nesbit and Vera Brittain. The poems are arranged by theme to give a sense of how the writers' feelings and attitudes evolved.


Audible Editor Reviews

Poets of the Great War presents a moving collection of poetic works produced during World War I, with authors ranging from the famous (Wilfred Owen, Siegfried Sassoon, Isaac Rosenberg) to the less-famous, but equally worthy of regard (Edward Thomas, Edith Nesbit, and Vera Brittain). Dramatic performances from a cast of respected actors of stage and screen lend these pieces an intense, emotional depth - of particular note is Michael Sheen, who, after the production of this audiobook, went on to great success in films and television series like The Queen, Frost/Nixon, and Masters of Sex. Poignant and stirring, the collection comes to an emotionally satisfying conclusion with Laurence Binyon's "For The Fallen", a eulogy for the war's dead.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Great War Poets, great poetry, great work

Beautifully done, and a work worth listening to. I found I could only take this in small bouts as each poem is emotionally charged and puts you in the trenches or stretches. These poets where great writers and the narrators fantastic. I will pull this one out each Anzac Day and listen to it as it not only puts you in the mood, it makes you feel the sacrifice. Love this work.
Read full review

- Michael

Book Details

  • Release Date: 10-26-2000
  • Publisher: Naxos AudioBooks