Phineas Finn : Audible Exclusive - The Pallisers, read by Timothy West

  • by Anthony Trollope
  • Narrated by Timothy West
  • Series: Audible Exclusive - The Pallisers, read by Timothy West
  • 23 hrs and 30 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Exclusively from Audible
In Phineas Finn, the second of the Palliser series, Trollope balances the rival demands of public and private life, entangling political ambitions with the experiences of love.
Phineas Finn, an irresistible but penniless young Irish barrister enters Parliament and comes to London leaving behind him an Irish sweetheart, Mary Flood-Jones. In London, Phineas wins friends on all sides and is admitted into high society. However, he also falls more-or-less in love, first with politically-minded Lady Laura Standish, then with Violet Effingham, and finally with wealthy widow Madame Max Goesler.
With his character, reputation and prospects at stake, Phineas must make some ethical choices in regards to his career, political beliefs and romantic life - but what must he sacrifice?
Trollope deals with a diverse set of topics including reform and the Irish question, the position of women in society, and the conflict that integrity and ambition pose, the latter still being as relevant today as it was in the 1860s.
Phineas Finn is the first of Trollope's works to feature the affairs of the parliamentary world as a major interest. Three of the main characters are based on Benjamin Disraeli, William Gladstone, and the English reform politician John Bright.
Narrator Biography
Timothy West is prolific in film, television, theatre, and audiobooks. He has narrated a number of Anthony Trollope's classic audiobooks, including the six Chronicles of Barsetshire and The Pallisers series. He has also narrated volumes of Simon Schama's A History of Britain and John Mortimer's Rumpole on Trial.
Timothy's theatre includes King Lear, The Vote, Uncle Vanya, A Number, Quarter, and Coriolanus and his films include Ever After, Joan Of Arc, Endgame, Iris, The Day of the Jackal. On television, Timothy has appeared in Broken Biscuits (BBC), Great Canal Journeys (across 3 Series), regular role of Stan Carter on EastEnders (BBC); Last Tango in Halifax; Bleak House, Bedtime and Brass.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

The entire book is in the 3 parts of download.

I purchased this book before reading the reviews, but now that I happened to read them, I downloaded Part 3, listened to the final chapter - "The Conclusion." The book is next to me on my desk and the end of the book is the same as my download, Chapter LXXVI, "The Conclusion." This is the 6th or 7th Timothy West narration of Trollope that I have bought. His performances are amazing. I hope "Phineas Redux" becomes available by the time I finish listening to "Phineas Finn." I'm glad I didn't read the reviews or I might have missed this one.
Read full review

- Leni Ramberg

Timothy West Is My Homeboy

I have joined the Trollope Society because of the sheer delight that is to be found in this narrator's interpretation of Anthony Trollope's work. I love all the detail and subtlety. The writing takes you to another place and time in the most absorbing and fascinating way. I feel as if I am part of that world when I am reading. Robin Gibb was brought out of a coma by the singing of his family around him. I have told my husband that I want Timothy West reading Anthony Trollope if I am ever in such a dire situation. His reading is sublime. I love every single word. This production is simply perfect. Highly recommended.
Read full review

- Virginia Waldron

Book Details

  • Release Date: 05-06-2010
  • Publisher: Audible Studios