Regular price: $7.22

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $7.22

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Nathaniel Hawthorne was born in 1804 in the city of Salem, Massachusetts. His father, a sea captain, died when Nathaniel was 4 and Nathaniel, always a shy child, spent his early years with his Mother and two sisters. Hit on the leg by a ball, doctors could finds nothing wrong, but he went lame and was bedridden for a year. He entered Bowdoin College in 1821, and graduated in 1825.
Hawthorne anonymously published his first work, the novel Fanshawe, in 1828. He continued to publish in various periodicals, which he collected in 1837 as Twice-Told Tales. The next year, he became engaged to Sophia Peabody, eventually marrying her in 1842. His defining work, The Scarlet Letter, was published in 1850, followed by a succession of other novels. The majority of his works centre on New England and have a Puritan inspiration and outlook, with their inherent evil and sin of humanity. A political appointment took Hawthorne and family to Europe before their return in 1860. Hawthorne died on May 19, 1864, leaving behind his wife and their three children.
This volume centres on his short stories, which are beautifully crafted pieces layered with characters ill at ease with their path through life.
©2011 Word Of Mouth (P)2011 Copyright Group
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
1 out of 5 stars
By Jo on 10-09-12


What would have made Nathaniel Hawthorne: The Short Stories better?

The stories are great but the audio skips in several places.

Who was your favorite character and why?

Reading was good

Any additional comments?

the cover shows Roger Malvin's Burial it is not on the library entry purchased. The Minister's Veil, Young and Goodman Brown are on the download but not listed on the cover.


There is also no introduction or title for each of the short stories.

Read More Hide me

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews
© Copyright 1997 - 2018 Audible, Inc