Nathaniel Hawthorne

  • by Nathaniel Hawthorne
  • Narrated by Walter Zimmerman, Walter Covell, Jack Benson, John Chatty
  • 5 hrs and 47 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

This collection consists of the following nine stories: "Dr. Heidegger's Experiment", "The Great Stone Face", "My Kinsman, Major Molinaux", "The Minister's Black Veil", "Mr. Higgonbotham's Catastrophe", "The Ambitious Guest", "The Birthmark", "The Minotaur", and "Young Goodman Brown".


Audible Editor Reviews

The stories in this Nathanial Hawthorne collection are performed alternately by four expert narrators - Walter Zimmerman, Walter Covell, Jack Benson, and John Chatty - each with his own vital performance style; each bringing a unique spark to these darkly romantic, ornately written stories. Hawthorne, often inspired by the history of Puritan New England, plumbs the psychological depths of human nature through grippingĀ plots and subtle character development. The range of audio performances adds some contrast to what Greenleaf Whittier called the "weird and subtle beauty" of Hawthorn's prose.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

No customer reviews available

Book Details

  • Release Date: 02-21-2007
  • Publisher: Jimcin Recordings