Mortal Coils

  • by Aldous Huxley
  • Narrated by Simon Vance
  • 4 hrs and 10 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Mortal Coils is a collection of five pieces written by Aldous Huxley in the 1920s. The first one, "The Giaconda Smile", is a short murder story. "Permutations Among the Nightingales" is a play concerning amorous problems experienced by the patrons of a certain establishment. "The Tillotson Banquet" tells of an old artist who was thought to be dead. "Green Tunnels" is about the boredom of a young girl on holiday with her family. "Nuns at Luncheon" is a story told by a nun falling in love. The story mocks the writer’s process, a concept Huxley used in his Crome Yellow. Each story is read by the talented narrator Simon Vance.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Society Comedies that I found rather boring

Unlike A New World or Jacobs Hands, this had little of the human insight I love in Aldous' work. Apart from the last story which is actually tale ally great. The performance is perfectly done, couldn't ask for a better job there, this just wasn't really my cup of tea
Read full review

- Ash

Book Details

  • Release Date: 11-21-2011
  • Publisher: Blackstone Audio, Inc.