Modern Classic Verse - Volume 1 - End of a Century

  • by Emily Dickinson, Thomas Hardy, Gerard Manley Hopkins, Robert Bridges, Alice Meynell, A. E. Housman, William Butler Yeats
  • Narrated by Elizabeth Klett, Denis Daly
  • 3 hrs and 43 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

The turn of the 20th century saw radical developments in all art forms and particularly in poetry. The first volume of this series features the work of nine significant poets whose careers cover the period from the late 19th century to the early 20th century.
Contents of volume one: Emily Dickinson - 17 poems; Thomas Hardy - 19 poems; Gerard Manley Hopkins - The Wreck of the Deutschland; Gerard Manley Hopkins - 13 poems; Robert Bridges - 19 poems; Alice Meynell - 19 poems; A. E. Housman - 25 poems; Mary Coleridge - 15 poems; W. B. Yeats - Seven Poems and a Fragment; Rudyard Kipling - Departmental Ditties: 14 poems.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Collection of poems, very well read

This collection of poems is read by 2 narrators. Each reads several poems in a row. Both are excellent and the switching between the male and female voices keeps it interesting. This is an audiobook I listen to in small segments. I don't normally read poetry for pleasure and this is a nice poetry interlude occasionally on my commute in between other audiobooks or when I just want a change of pace. Both narrators are easy to understand.
Read full review

- JenniferFour

Book Details

  • Release Date: 03-04-2016
  • Publisher: Spoken Realms