• by Euripides
  • Narrated by Jared Ristau-Hernandez
  • 1 hrs and 28 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

The Medea, in spite of its background of wonder and enchantment, is not a romantic play but a tragedy of character and situation. It deals, so to speak, not with the romance itself, but with the end of the romance, a thing which is so terribly often the reverse of romantic. For all but the very highest of romances are apt to have just one flaw somewhere, and in the story of Jason and Medea the flaw was of a fatal kind. The wildness and beauty of the Argo legend run through all Greek literature, from the mass of Corinthian lays older than our present Iliad, which later writers vaguely associate with the name of EumĂȘlus, to the "Fourth Pythian Ode" of Pindar and the beautiful Argonautica of Apollonius Rhodius. Our poet knows the wildness and the beauty; but it is not these qualities that he specially seeks. He takes them almost for granted, and pierces through them to the sheer tragedy that lies below.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Had To Read For School, So I Listened Instead

This was assigned reading for school, but because of having ADHD and Dyslexia I'm a very slow reader, so seeing this book available on Audible was a godsend. Thanks for whoever produced and uploaded this. Not sure what the other reviewer was complaining about but the narrator did a great job and it was easy to follow along. I'm going to start looking on Audible now whenever I get assigned reading to see if they have it because this was a BIG HELP.
Read full review

- HH

Don't buy this version.

Would you try another book from Euripides and/or Jared Ristau-Hernandez?

I would certainly try another of Euripides works if it were read by someone else. I love reading these plays. This time I wanted to hear it. But this narrator is so bad that I can't understand how he got the job.

Who would you have cast as narrator instead of Jared Ristau-Hernandez?

Simon Vance

Any additional comments?

The lesson I learned is listen to the sample reading before purchasing. I didn't do this with Medea. I think this narrator is the only option if you want the unabridged version.

Read full review

- David P. Gardner

Book Details

  • Release Date: 08-11-2016
  • Publisher: Argos Audio