Louise de La Vallière : D'Artagnan

  • by Alexandre Dumas
  • Narrated by Simon Vance
  • Series: D'Artagnan
  • 23 hrs and 9 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

As part of the d'Artagnan Romances following The Three Musketeers and Twenty Years After, and devoted in large part to romantic events at the court of France's King Louis XIV, Louise de La Valliere is the second part of Alexandre Dumas's 268 chapter novel The Vicomte de Bragelonne: Ten Years Later, which first appeared in serial form between 1847 and 1850. Filled with behind-the-scenes intrigue, the novel brings the aging Musketeers and d'Artagnan out of retirement to face an impending crisis within the royal court of France.


What the Critics Say

"One of the very best of the series, mixing amorous and political intrigue with an élan peculiar to Dumas...this quasi-historical series remains remarkably readable" (The Irish Times, Dublin)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

A Soap Opera with Musketeers

This story seems quaint and very subtle by modern standards.

Large tracts are devoted to the minutiae of French royalty and the surrounding courtiers, where sometimes there is a very long and (impeccably narrated) winding road to reach a climax where one of several gallant knights squeezes one of several ladies-in-waiting hands or some other equally scandalous body part.

I suppose this must have titillated in it's day, but it really doesn't measure up to the excitement of "The 3 Musketeers", "20 Years After" or even "The Man in the Iron Mask", which follows on from this, and is well enough written that you could probably jump from "Le Vicomte de Bragelonne" to "The Man in the Iron Mask" without losing much in the bargain.
Read full review

- Mr

Not the best book in the series

I loved the performance by Simon Vance as with all his work. However, this installment is not up to the great level of Dumas' previous three books in the series. A romantic farce rather than a tragedy it just doesn't hold up. Can't wait to get back to his great writing with Man in the Iron Mask.
Read full review

- Jim

Book Details

  • Release Date: 07-16-2009
  • Publisher: Blackstone Audio, Inc.