Incidents in the Life of a Slave Girl

  • by Harriet Jacobs
  • Narrated by Lisa Reneé Pitts
  • 9 hrs and 3 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Published in 1861, Harriet Jacobs's Incidents in the Life of a Slave Girl is an autobiographical account of the author's experiences as a slave in 19th-century North Carolina, from her relatively happy childhood to the brutality she experienced as a teenager and young woman to her eventual escape to the North. One of the few slave narratives written by a woman, Jacobs's work deals frankly with the horrors of slavery, shedding light on the abuses female slaves in particular often endured at the hands of their masters. Incidents in the Life of a Slave Girl is a gripping, unflinchingly honest account of slavery, one that stands as an important counterpoint to male slave narratives by such authors as Frederick Douglass.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful


I enjoyed this book. I learned quite alot of this time that I did not know. Being Canadian, this was not a subject that was ever taught in our schools.( Perhaps that has changed now, I dont know. ) This was a time in history that was more horrific than I even thought. And yet ,throughout this story, there was a constant thread of love and hope. There is quite a lot of focus on the relationship between Harriet and her grandmother. This relationship was simply amazing in it's power and strength. I came away from this book better for having listened to it, on so many levels.
What an amazing woman Harriet was, as was her family. Very highly recommended.
Read full review

- ben

A joy!

Lisa Reneé Pitts' voice is so sweet, and the writing so lush, this story became what I looked forward to most about getting home! As someone with hardly one cultural tie to speak of with African American history I found this a real education, and as such an impassioned first hand account, made it incredibly relatable. Would absolutely recommend!
Read full review

- Pandora

Book Details

  • Release Date: 06-30-2011
  • Publisher: Tantor Audio