Hornblower and the "Atropos" : Horatio Hornblower (chronological order)

  • by C. S. Forester
  • Narrated by Nicolas Coster
  • Series: Horatio Hornblower (chronological order)
  • 11 hrs and 29 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

"I find Hornblower admirable, vastly entertaining" - Winston Churchill In the wake of a humbling incident aboard a canal boat in the Cotswolds, young Captain Horatio Hornblower arrives in London to take command of the Atropos, a 22-gun sloop barely large enough to require a captain. Her first assignment under Hornblower's command is as flagship for the funeral procession of Lord Nelson. Soon Atropos is part of the Mediterranean Fleet's harassment of Napoleon, recovering treasure that lies deep in Turkish waters and boldly challenging a Spanish frigate several times her size. At the center of each adventure is Hornblower, Forester's most inspired creation, whose blend of cautious preparation and spirited execution dazzles friend and foe alike.


What the Critics Say

"A rousing tale of history, character, and adventure...For once Hornblower is the mouse Instead of the cat, but he makes that role fully as dramatic as the other." (Chicago Tribune)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Great book. Poor narrator.

All of the Hornblower books are excellent and this one is no exception. Forrester is a master of his craft and his detailed knowledge of how the British navy worked and how ships were sailed make the action believable and convincing.

Unfortunately this audio book is spoiled for me by the narrator who has a slow and mournful delivery that sounds like a vicar on Valium preaching a long and boring sermon.

The other books in this series are read by Christian Rodska who does a much better job.
Read full review

- John

Horrible reader!

Would you try another book from C. S. Forester and/or Nicolas Coster?

I will read anything C.S. Forester writes. I will never listen to Nicolas Coster again. If he is the only choice - I will read the book in print.

Who would you have cast as narrator instead of Nicolas Coster?

Christian Rodska!

You didn’t love this book... but did it have any redeeming qualities?

I do love the book - the overall performance was so awful that it ruined it for me. I was angry most of the time I listened because of the narrator. The book is another great story in the Hornblower series.

Any additional comments?

I have listened to other books in the Hornblower series read by Christian Rodska and loved them. The reader of this book is so absolutely awful I may not finish it. I will never buy another audiobook read by him and will read the book in print instead. I am having to listen at a 1.5 speed because the reader sounds so slow and drunk. If you enjoy Rodska's reading - you will be greatly disappointed.

Read full review

- Arno

Book Details

  • Release Date: 02-04-2009
  • Publisher: Phoenix Books