• by William Shakespeare
  • Narrated by Anton Lesser, full cast
  • 3 hrs and 55 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Hamlet, which dates from 1600-1601, is the first in Shakespeare's great series of four tragedies. In writing this extraordinary play, Shakespeare effectively re-invented tragedy after an interval of roughly 2,000 years - you would have to go back to the Greek dramatists of fifth century Athens to find anything of comparable depth and maturity.
This production features the voice of Anton Lesser as Hamlet along with a full cast.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Excellent Copy

This is a first-rate production of the play. It's clean, complete, and well-acted. Music and sound-effects are tasteful. At times, it might be a little bit too quiet, say, for airplanes, but these moments are few and far between. Overal, I wanted an audible copy I could keep coming back to like the text, and that's precisely what they've delivered.
Read full review

- Kirby

A poor introduction to the play

This is not directed at those who are already familiar with Hamlet and have read the play before. This audiobook was my first experience with Hamlet, however, and the action is very difficult to follow. I'm not familiar with Elizabethan English, and the actors generally speak very quickly with some exceptions, such as Claudius. (Hamlet himself, however, is not an exception.) I listen to books in my car, but even taking the background noise into account, the changes in volume were extreme. At several points I had to turn the volume up so high -- even to hear that anyone was speaking at all! -- that I worried that when some new character entered and the volume returned to normal, my ears would be hurt.

While those who have read the play may get a better appreciation for the work by hearing it dramatized, (and the use of sound and music is well-done, to be fair) I would not recommend that someone unfamiliar with the play use this production as a first exposure to Hamlet.
Read full review

- Joseph A. Viola IV

Book Details

  • Release Date: 10-26-2000
  • Publisher: Naxos AudioBooks