Fairy Tales Every Child Should Know

  • by Hamilton Wright Mabie
  • Narrated by Samantha Worthen
  • 11 hrs and 5 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

This volume contains a collection of fairy tales from a wide array of classical works. These immortal tales include "The Enchanted Stag", "Twelve Brothers", "Puss in Boots", "Jack and the Beanstalk", "The Princess and the Pea", "The Ugly Duckling", "The Light Princess", "Beauty and the Beast", "Hansel and Gretel", "Jack the Giant Killer", "The Second Voyage of Sinbad the Sailor", and "The Story of Aladdin, or the Wonderful Lamp".


Audible Editor Reviews

In 1905 Hamilton Wright Mabie published Fairy Tales Every Child Should Know, as distinguished from the author's similar works, Famous Stories Every Child Should Know and Myths Every Child Should Know. What does Mabie require children to know in this audiobook? Actress Samantha Worthen tells listeners the familiar fairy tales of Cinderella, Puss in Boots, and Sleeping Beauty as well as lesser known tales from The Arabian Nights, the Brothers Grimm, Aesop's Fables, Charles Perault, Hans Christian Andersen, and others. Worthen's warm, amiable, child-friendly voice brings a light to sometimes dark material. In classic children's narratives she has clearly found a genre where she can shine.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Very bad narration

I have had a very difficult time struggling to finish this book, but I have resolved to quench the pain inflicted on me by the reader. Don't know how, but I made it.
Strongly recommend choosing a different narration.
Read full review

- Amazon Customer

Not for kids

These stories are awful. Really not for small children. May be ok for older kids looking for alternative fairy tails, but they're pretty weird stories.
Read full review


Book Details

  • Release Date: 02-07-2012
  • Publisher: Audible Studios