England to Free Men

  • by John Galsworthy
  • Narrated by Phillip J. Mather
  • 0 hrs and 1 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

The narrator pledges to donate 50% of his proceeds to The Royal British Legion Poppy Day Appeal - please support. Written in 1914, by the Nobel Prize winner for literature, John Galsworthy. England to Free Men is written as from England herself and extols the virtues of an empire upon which the sun never sets, and reminding all, from whatever background, that they are free men and must join in the war to defend their common values.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Perfect Poem For Freedom And Patriotism

What did you love best about England to Free Men?

The prose and rhyming of this poem are exquisite. Galsworthy was a master and it shows in the rhythm and cadence of this poem.

This poem, written from England to its fighting men, expresses a sort of patriotism which I doubt exist any longer. We have grown jaded and cynical, and a wholehearted love of country is seen as bizarre, even foolish.

Is that a good thing or bad? There are two sides to it, I suppose, but it does show a time in which such emotions were the norm.

The narration was superb. My wife and I listened to it together. Mr. Mather's voice has the gravitas this poem deserves.

What other book might you compare England to Free Men to and why?

I listened to "In Flanders Fields", read by the same narrator. It is also a war poem.

Have you listened to any of Phillip J. Mather’s other performances before? How does this one compare?

This poem is superior in terms of prose and structure to other poems I've listened to. You can sense the mastery of Galsworthy in every line.

Did you have an extreme reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

It is an emotional poem. I can imagine how it stirred men into battle and sacrifice.

Any additional comments?

I will seek more of Mr. Galsworhty's work based on this poem.

Read full review

- Jonathan

Book Details

  • Release Date: 05-16-2014
  • Publisher: Listen2aBook.com